Avian Gamers Network

Forum
It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 5:28 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 12:26 am 
Site Admin

Cyrus’s non-expert opinion why SWG failed to be the game that most of us were looking for. I am by no means an expert. But I was around about two years before the game was released, and this is what I think:

History as I remember it:
    Release -3 years: SWG was rocking and rolling along. They had many great ideas for a Star Wars MMO, and they had many of the kings of MMO design and development. The world generation tools were said to be amazing. Developers no longer needed to hand tool each and every location in the world, they could just adjust variables and the engine would do all the work. A great combat system was in the works, as was a very robust crafting system. Rumor had it that you did not even need to fight in SWG, a player could have a fun and fulfilling life as a crafter. Mantison’s City Bothen idea was a MMO dream come true. There would be Player cities, and vehicles. Themeparks would be huge areas where we could interact in memorable Star Wars locations, and receive missions from key iconic characters from Star Wars Lore. The game had more potential than any other MMO.

Release-2 years: Outcasting and PVP took up too much time. The debate went on and on. From my understanding, considerable resources were devoted to the outcasting system and the way land would be controlled by factions. By all accounts the system existed, but for one reason or another the idea was scraped. I am not here to defend outcasting, I just remember considerable debate and developer comments on the system.